XV Annual CAF Conference

Wednesday, September 7

2:00 to 2:15   Session I. Conference Introductory Remarks
    Enrique García, CAF
Jose Miguel Insulza, Organization of American States
Michael Shifter, Inter-American Dialogue
2:15 to 2:45   Keynote Address
    Enrique Iglesias, Secretary General, SEGIB
2:45 to 4:30   Session II. “Obama’s Politics after his Visit to Latin America: What is Next?”
Speakers:   Guillermo Fernández de Soto, Former Foreign Minister of Colombia
    Gustavo Fernández Saavedra, Former Foreign Minister of Bolivia
    Mary Beth Sheridan, Diplomatic Correspondent, The Washington Post
Moderator:   Martín Torrijos, Former President of Panama
4:30 to 6:15   Session III. “Political Challenges in Latin America: the Vision of its New Leaders”
Speakers:   Marisa Glave, City Councilor of Lima, Peru
    Diego Cánepa, ProSecretary of the Presidency, Uruguay
    Paula Moreno, Former Minister of Culture, Colombia
    Boris Muñoz, Editor-in-Chief, Exceso, Venezuela
    Claudia Benavente, Director, Diario La Razón, Bolivia
Moderator:   Moisés Naím, Senior Associate, International Economics Program, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
7:00 to 9:00   Reception at the Organization of American States
Keynote Speaker:   Héctor Arce, President, House of Deputies of Bolivia


Thursday, September 8


8:00 to 8:30   Continental Breakfast
8:30 to 9:15   Keynote Address
Speaker:   Thomas A. Shannon, US Undersecretary of State for Political Affairs
Moderator:   Carla A. Hills, Chairman & CEO, Hills & Company
9:15 to 10:45   Session IV. “Towards a New Agenda for Inclusive Sustainable Development”
Speakers:   Alessandro Pio, Director General, North America, Asian Development Bank
    Luis Alberto Moreno, President, Inter-American Development Bank
    Didier Mercier, Deputy CEO, French Development Agency
    Fernando Lorenzo, Minister of Finance of Uruguay
Moderator:   Enrique García, President & CEO, CAF
10:45 to 10:55   “Promoting the Dialogue on Competitiveness in the Americas”
Speakers:   Rafael Alburquerque, Vice President, Dominican Republic
    Andrés Van der Horst Alvarez, Minister of the National Council of Competitiveness, Dominican Republic
10:55 to 12:30   Session V. “New Triangle: Asia—Latin America—USA”
Speakers:   Anna Jaguaribe, Professor Sociology, UFRJ, Brazil
    Osvaldo Rosales, Director of the Division of Trade & Integration, CEPAL
    Wu Guoping, Professor, Institute of Latin American Studies (ILAS) of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS)
    Jeffrey Davidow, Former US Assistant Secretary of State for Western Hemisphere Affairs, Member of the Cohen Group
    Eric Farnsworth, Vice President, Council of the Americas
Moderator:   Charles Shapiro, President-designate, Institute of the Americas
1:00 to 3:00   Working Lunch: “Changing Dynamics of Hemispheric Relations”
Speakers:   María Emma Mejía, Secretary General, UNASUR
    José Miguel Insulza, Secretary General, OAS
Moderator:   Patricia Janiot, Anchor, CNN en español