III Leadership for the Americas Awards Gala



Thomas F. McLarty, III, Co-Vice Chair, Inter-American Dialogue & Chairman and Founder, McLarty Associates

Mr. McLarty will present the Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award to Fernando Henrique Cardoso, former president of Brazil.




The Honorable Mark Warner, US Senate (D-VA)

Senator Mark Warner will present the Distinguished Leadership Award for Social Equity to Luis Alberto Moreno, president of the Inter-American Development Bank. 




The Honorable Francis Rooney, US House of Representatives (R-FL)

Congressman Francis Rooney will present the award for Civic Engagement to Roberto Murray Meza, president of Fundación Rafael Meza Ayau and chairman of AGRISAL.




Maria Hinojosa, Executive Producer, Latino USA (NPR) & Founder, Futuro Media Group 

Maria Hinojosa, executive producer of Latino USA on NPR, will present the award for Innovation and Social Impact to Luis von Ahn, co-founder and CEO, reCAPTCHA and Duolingo.




Judy Woodruff, Anchor and Managing Editor, PBS NewsHour

Judy Woodruff, anchor and managing editor of PBS NewsHour, will present the award for the Defense of Human Rights to Lydia Cacho, writer and human rights activist.